February 5, 2021

NDN Collective In-Depth Series with Stanford Social Innovation Review

"Decolonization and Radical Indigenous Futures" is a series published at the Stanford Social Innovation Review (SSIR) in partnership with NDN Collective.

Decolonization and radical indigenous futures

Originally published at Stanford Social Innovation Review

Indigenous people today are at the intersection of some of the most pressing issues facing humanity, from climate change and environmental degradation to human rights struggles and movement building. Our unique lived experiences as survivors of genocide, colonialism, and disenfranchisement position us well to bring forth grassroots solutions that not only come from within the trenches of communities closest to the struggle and closest to the pain, but solutions that break down many of the power structures that harm and divide us all. 

For decades, social entrepreneurs—predominantly white, heterosexual, cisgender men—have forced their own solutions onto Indigenous communities. In this in-depth series, presented in partnership between NDN Collective and SSIR, you will hear from Indigenous leaders with solutions for investors who want to help further Indigenous priorities, from folks working on transformative narrative change and increasing Indigenous visibility, from organizers speaking on how Indigenous people are building our collective political power, and more. You’ll be able to see the many ways Indigenous people are working to successfully solve issues that benefit our own communities and, ultimately, all of us.

We need the autonomy to pursue the building of a better world, informed by our practices, culture, and generations of wisdom.

NDN Collective is an Indigenous-led organization dedicated to building Indigenous power. This means that our innovation not only needs to be uplifted by philanthropists, nonprofits, and foundations. We need the autonomy to pursue the building of a better world, informed by our practices, culture, and generations of wisdom. Building the collective power of Indigenous Peoples, communities, and Nations not only means exercising our inherent right to self-determination; it means working to build a world on a foundation of justice and equity for all people and for the planet.

As you read this series over the next few months, we invite you to call into question your own beliefs about the role of philanthropy and grantmaking. We invite you to interrogate your understanding of Indigenous people, and of our issues and fights. We ask you to open your heart to boundless possibilities that you haven’t even begun to hear of yet, because of how segregated the US still is by race and class. We hope you walk away from each new article with curiosity and the simple understanding that so many of us don’t know yet what we don’t understand. The people writing for this series are here to teach and learn from each other, working together to build a world in which we can all thrive. We hope you truly hear us, as we invite you into our respective worlds and share our unique perspectives, so we can move forward together, truly, for the first time. 

Read the first article in this series by NDN Collective President and CEO Nick Tilsen, “Building Indigenous Power and Investing in Indigenous Self-Determination.”

November 2020 Edition

Stay Informed. Take Action.

Subscribe to the NDN allies newsletter

Sign up to get our newsletter. Delivered once per month.

We care about the protection of your data and would never sell your email or share it with anyone without your permission.

Posted 1 year ago Alcatraz Canoe Journey: Honoring 50 Years of Indigenous Resistance and Persistence

Jade Begay

"If we work to reframe Alcatraz as a symbol for Indigenous sovereignty and reposition it in people’s psyche that way, it could be a very powerful thing, especially for people who are so often forgotten overlooked and marginalized like Natives in America."
Posted 3 weeks ago Bridging the Divide Between Impact Investing and Native America

Nikki Pieratos , Chrystel Cornelius

Indigenous intermediaries are crucial to overcoming asymmetries between impact investors and Native America through the building of relationships of trust, creation of an ecosystem for impact investing in Indigenous communities, and performance of the due diligence investors need to manage risk.
Posted 3 weeks ago NDN Collective Launches Resilience Loan Fund for Tribes, Tribal Enterprises, and Native-Owned Businesses to Help Move Past Economic Impacts of COVID-19
As part of NDN Collective’s larger response to the pandemic, NDN Fund has created special emergency debt capital, bridge loans, and capacity building services to help businesses remain solvent and to identify opportunities for some to expand if they are in advantaged industries.
Posted 4 weeks ago Building Indigenous Power and Investing in Indigenous Self-Determination

Nick Tilsen

To solve the most pressing issues for Indigenous communities—and for the world at large—power and autonomy must be given to Indigenous people themselves.
Posted 4 weeks ago NDN Collective Speaks Out Against Line 3 Project
Indigenous group raises awareness on effects of oil sand pipeline on Native Minnesota region.
Posted 1 month ago NDN Collective Responds to Inauguration of President Joe Biden
Today, we celebrate the collective work of our people and movements who have organized, built power and helped deliver one of the most important elections in history.
Posted 1 month ago NDN Collective Responds to President Biden Rescinding Keystone XL Pipeline Permit and Vow to Rejoin the Paris Agreement
The KXL pipeline was set to go through the heart of the Oceti Sakowin Territory. The people came together, resisted the fossil fuel industry and stood up for our lands, water and rights. We will continue to resist and fight.
Posted 1 month ago Indigenizing Education Equity: SD Ed Equity Coalition and NDN Collective ramp up efforts in 2021
As the South Dakota Education Equity coalition (SDEEC) prepares for the 2021 legislative session, they are asking individuals in support of their efforts to call their legislators, voice support for their bill and the concept of Oceti Sakowin Community Based Schools.
Posted 2 months ago NDN Collective Responds to DC Violence: "Dismantle white supremacy, Radically imagine a new future."
“NDN Collective vehemently supports the calls for impeachment of President Trump, but more importantly, and beyond this presidency, this moment illuminates the urgent need to dismantle white supremacy and radically imagine a new future.”
Posted 2 months ago NDN Collective Leadership Congratulates Rep. Deb Haaland on Being Named Secretary of the Interior
“We are excited by Rep. Haaland’s appointment and look forward to having a representative who has insight into Indigenous issues and priorities, so Land Back organizers can uplift our policy solutions and help fuel systematic change that benefits all people and the planet.”
Posted 3 months ago NDN Collective Awards $4.5 Million in Grants to 105 Indigenous-led Projects for Transition & Resilience
Announcing 105 Indigenous-led projects selected in Phase 2 of our COVID-19 Response Project under our theme of Transition and Resilience.
NDN Collective
317 Main St #1
Rapid City, SD 57701
P: +1 (605) 791-3999
E: info@ndncollective.org
© 2021 NDN Collective. All rights reserved.