NDN Collective In-Depth Series with Stanford Social Innovation Review

February 5, 2021

NDN Collective In-Depth Series with Stanford Social Innovation Review

"Decolonization and Radical Indigenous Futures" is a series published at the Stanford Social Innovation Review (SSIR) in partnership with NDN Collective.

Decolonization and radical indigenous futures

Originally published at Stanford Social Innovation Review

Indigenous people today are at the intersection of some of the most pressing issues facing humanity, from climate change and environmental degradation to human rights struggles and movement building. Our unique lived experiences as survivors of genocide, colonialism, and disenfranchisement position us well to bring forth grassroots solutions that not only come from within the trenches of communities closest to the struggle and closest to the pain, but solutions that break down many of the power structures that harm and divide us all. 

For decades, social entrepreneurs—predominantly white, heterosexual, cisgender men—have forced their own solutions onto Indigenous communities. In this in-depth series, presented in partnership between NDN Collective and SSIR, you will hear from Indigenous leaders with solutions for investors who want to help further Indigenous priorities, from folks working on transformative narrative change and increasing Indigenous visibility, from organizers speaking on how Indigenous people are building our collective political power, and more. You’ll be able to see the many ways Indigenous people are working to successfully solve issues that benefit our own communities and, ultimately, all of us.

We need the autonomy to pursue the building of a better world, informed by our practices, culture, and generations of wisdom.

NDN Collective is an Indigenous-led organization dedicated to building Indigenous power. This means that our innovation not only needs to be uplifted by philanthropists, nonprofits, and foundations. We need the autonomy to pursue the building of a better world, informed by our practices, culture, and generations of wisdom. Building the collective power of Indigenous Peoples, communities, and Nations not only means exercising our inherent right to self-determination; it means working to build a world on a foundation of justice and equity for all people and for the planet.

As you read this series over the next few months, we invite you to call into question your own beliefs about the role of philanthropy and grantmaking. We invite you to interrogate your understanding of Indigenous people, and of our issues and fights. We ask you to open your heart to boundless possibilities that you haven’t even begun to hear of yet, because of how segregated the US still is by race and class. We hope you walk away from each new article with curiosity and the simple understanding that so many of us don’t know yet what we don’t understand. The people writing for this series are here to teach and learn from each other, working together to build a world in which we can all thrive. We hope you truly hear us, as we invite you into our respective worlds and share our unique perspectives, so we can move forward together, truly, for the first time. 

Read the first article in this series by NDN Collective President and CEO Nick Tilsen, “Building Indigenous Power and Investing in Indigenous Self-Determination.”

January 2023 Edition

Stay Informed. Take Action.

Subscribe to the NDN allies newsletter

Sign up to get our newsletter. Delivered once per month.

We care about the protection of your data and would never sell your email or share it with anyone without your permission.

Doubling Down for LANDBACK: Q & A with Nick Tilsen After 2.5 Year Legal Battle Comes to an End Posted 1 month ago
In this Q & A interview, Nick shares some of his reflections and big picture takeaways from the past two and a half years. Nick faced up to 17 years behind bars after a #LANDBACK protest in the Black Hills on July 3, 2020.
NDN Collective Announces Community Action Fund Grant Partners Posted 2 months ago
“NDN Collective is honored to invest in the self-determination and leadership of these organizations, collectives, organizers, and cultural practitioners. They are on the frontlines defending our communities from resource extraction, combating the polluters fueling climate change, and standing up for the human rights of Indigenous peoples."
NDN Collective Shares Program Intention of Collective Abundance Fund Ahead of Official Launch Posted 2 months ago
“While this financial commitment is unprecedented and significant, funding alone won’t solve the racial equity gap. Movement building must continue. Policy and advocacy work must continue to disrupt, dismantle, and shift the economic systems that don’t work for us. We can all play a part in that.”
All Charges Dismissed Against Nick Tilsen in 2.5 Year Long Case Posted 2 months ago
“My case held a mirror up to the so-called legal system, where prosecutors – fueled by white fragility and fear of Indigenous power – wasted years of state resources to intimidate, criminalize, and violate me. The fact that I’ve gone from facing 17 years in prison to all charges dismissed is not a coincidence or an act of justice – it’s evidence that the charges were bogus from the start."
NDN Collective Announces 2022 Community Self-Determination Grantee Partners Posted 2 months ago
“This cohort of grantee partners represents some of the most impactful work happening across Turtle Island—defending the air, land and water; developing Indigenous economies based on regenerative principles; and revitalizing our languages, cultures and ceremonies in ways that illuminate the path for the next generations.”
NDN Collective & Rewiring America Release IRA Memo for Tribes & Indigenous Communities Posted 2 months ago
Households could save $140,000 on energy bills over 25 years with efficient energy infrastructure – which would both help build Indigenous wealth, and help families divest from the volatile oil and gas markets. 
NDN Collective Statement on COP27 Negotiation Outcomes Posted 2 months ago
"We call on nation states to sever their relationships to the fossil fuels industry, fully commit to phasing out of fossil fuels, and utilize the core tenets of a Just Transition. Anything less is a failure to all of humanity.”
NDN Collective Responds to Mass Shooting of 2SLGBTQIA+ Relatives in Colorado Springs Posted 2 months ago
"As 2 spirit and queer individuals we long for spaces that are safe. We long for spaces that we can show up in and be our unapologetic queer selves without the fear of persecution. What happened to our relatives in Colorado is a violation of that sacred space and only triggers a more profound hyper vigilance of our spaces, our communities and of ourselves."
COP27: NDN Collective's Recap of Week One at the United Nations 27th Annual Conference of the Parties (COP) in Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt Posted 3 months ago
"Our delegation has been participating in the Indigenous Peoples Caucus and the Local Communities Indigenous Peoples Platform, as well as tracking negotiations, meeting with government officials, and more."
COP27: NDN Collective Meets with White House Climate Advisor Posted 3 months ago
In their discussion with White House Climate Advisor Ali Zaidi, NDN Collective, alongside frontline Indigenous and Black organizers touched on issue areas including IRA, mining, oil and gas leases.

United like never before, we rise together—arm in arm—to equip all Indigenous Peoples with the tools needed to become architects of our future. Through a holistic approach to infrastructure, funding, advocacy, movement building, and philanthropy we are fostering a world of justice and equity for all people and the planet.